

ISLE OF WIGHT ASSOCIATION OF LOCAL COUNCILS

County Officer: Heather Rowell 59 Trafalgar Road, Newport, Isle of Wight. PO30 1QF 01983 528798
heatheriwalc@gmail.com
www.iwalc.org
www.facebook.com/iwalcnews
Twitter:@iwalcnews

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Minutes of the meeting held remotely via Zoom on Thursday 29th July 2021 at 7pm

Present:

Officers: Cllrs Diana Conyers Chair (Fishbourne PC), Mick Lyons, Vice Chair (Havenstreet & Ashey PC), Sue Hardy, Treasurer (Lake PC) Heather Rowell (County Officer) and Jill Webster (Publications Assistant)

Members:

Cllrs Heather Calloway (Arreton PC), Martin Kimber (Arreton PC), John Graney (Brading TC), Nick Stuart (Brighstone PC), John Hobart (Chillerton and Gatcombe PC), Paul Bertie (Cowes TC), Cameron Palin (East Cowes TC), Michael Paler (East Cowes TC), Weronika Nowak (Fishbourne PC), George Cameron (Freshwater PC), John Medland (Freshwater PC), Mike Locke (Freshwater PC), Alison Child (Godshill PC) Paul Fuller (Gurnard PC), Bob Blezzard (Havenstreet & Ashey PC), David Hardy(Lake PC), June Davison (Newchurch PC), Shirley Smart (Newport & Carisbrooke Community Council), Patricia Redpath (Nettlestone and Seaview PC), David Barry (Nettlestone and Seaview PC), John Pullen (Northwood PC), Ian RigaudBarrett (Rookley PC), Malcolm Ross (Ryde TC), Jonathan Bacon (St Helens PC), Toby Wilcock(Sandown TC), Helena Hewston (Shalfleet PC), Shirley Stables (Shalfleet PC), John Harrison (Shorwell PC), Kai Wacker (Wroxall PC), (Wootton Bridge PC) and Steve Cowley (Yarmouth TC).

1. Welcome

The Chair welcomed members to the IWALC AGM.

2. Apologies

Apologies were received from Cllrs John Cirrone (Brighstone PC), Peter Whiteman (Chillerton & Gatcombe PC), Phil Sanders (Cowes TC), Terry Martin (Newport and Carisbrooke Community Council), Jenna Sabine (Ryde TC), and Heather Humby (Sandown TC),

3. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

4. To approve the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Thursday October 29 2020 The Minutes of the AGM held on October 29 2020 were approved as a true and accurate record of the meeting. (SS/BB)

5. Elections

Cllr Diana Conyers handed the meeting to Vice Chair Cllr Mick Lyons for the following nomination: Chair - One nomination for the position of Chair had been received. The nominee was Cllr Diana Conyers (Fishbourne PC) who was thus appointed as Chair for the coming year. Cllr Conyers then took over as Chair of the meeting and thanked members for their support. Vice Chair - One nomination for the position of Vice- Chair had been received. The nominee was Cllr Mick Lyons (Havenstreet and Ashey PC) who was thus appointed as Vice Chair for the coming year.

6. Address by Lora Peacey- Wilcox, Leader of the Isle of Wight Council

Cllr Peacey-Wilcox congratulated everyone on their re-elections, welcomed Sandown back to IWALC and expressed the importance of working as a collective group. Cllr Peacey-Wilcox talked about the strength and support of the Cabinet. The Council have already made changes to involve IWALC more inclusively, including reinstallation as a voting member of the Corporate Scrutiny Committee and inclusion as a non-voting member of the Planning Committee. Cllr Fuller has agreed to be the conduit between the Council and IWALC. The Chair thanked Cllr Peacey-Wilcox for attending and updating members.

7. Treasurer: To Appoint Treasurer for 2021/22

Cllr Hardy had been nominated and it was unanimously agreed that Cllr Hardy should continue in the role. She was thanked by the Chair for all her hard work.

- **8.** Accounts: To receive the Association's accounts. The accounts were unanimously approved, and thanks given to Cllr Hardy.
- 9. Chair's Annual Report: To receive the Chair's Annual Report. This was unanimously accepted.
- **10. Constitution: To appoint working a group to review and recommend any amendments.** The following members were appointed to the working group with admin support from the County Officer: Councillors Diana Conyers, Mick Lyons, Bob Blezzard, Patricia Redpath and John Graney.

11. Training:

- **a.** To appoint members of the County Training Group The following members were appointed: Councillors Diana Conyers, Mick Lyons, Sue Hardy, Peter Whiteman, Patricia Redpath and June Davison.
- **b.** To update members on the current training programme Due to oversubscription of the Basic Skills Training for new councillors, 2 courses have been run. A Chairmanship course has also been run. All courses were well attended with positive feedback. The Chair expressed thanks to Sue Chilton for all her hard work in delivering the training.

12. Representatives to outside bodies: To appoint representatives to the following:

- a. National Association of Local Councils (NALC) Cllr Bob Blezzard, Deputy Cllr Dave Hardy.
- Southeast Regional County Association (SERCAF) Cllr Dave Hardy, Deputy Cllr Bob Blezzard
- c. Hampshire and Isle of Wight Local Government Association Cllr Bob Blezzard, Deputy Cllr Shirley Smart.
- d. Isle of Wight Council Health and Wellbeing Board Cllr Dr Kai Wacker, Deputy Cllr Shirley Smart.
- e. Isle of Wight Council Scrutiny Committee Cllr Cameron Palin, Deputy Cllr Helena Hewston.
- f. Isle of Wight Council Appeals Committee Cllr Mick Lyons, Deputy Cllr Martin Kimber.
- g. Isle of Wight Council Planning Committee Since this was not on the original agenda, an interim representative was agreed until the September Executive meeting Cllr Shirlev Smart.
- h. Local Access Forum (LAF) Cllr John Graney
- i. Voluntary Sector Forum Cllr George Cameron, Deputy Cllr Dr Kai Wacker
- j. Carisbrooke Castle Museum.- Cllr Helena Hewston.
- k. Campaign to Protect Rural England (CPRE) Cllr Steve Cowley
- I. AONB Cllr John Graney
- m. Community Led Housing Board Cllr Peter Whiteman, Deputy Cllr Helena Hewston)

- n. Prevent Board- Cllr John Graney
- o. Age Friendly Island Cllr George Cameron
- 13. Review of Parliamentary Constituencies: To decide whether IWALC should make a submission on the relationship with town/parish council boundaries.

It was agreed to submit an IWALC submission in support of local councils focussing on the importance of not splitting town and parish council areas between MPs, and taking notice of the views of town and parish councils.

- **14. Meeting Dates: To approve dates of meetings for 2021/22 -**The meeting dates for the forthcoming year were approved.
- 15. Date of Next Meeting: Thursday 26th August 2021 at 7pm (Topic Meeting on Island Planning Strategy).

