

ISLE OF WIGHT ASSOCIATION OF LOCAL COUNCILS

County Officer: Heather Rowell 59 Trafalgar Road, Newport, Isle of Wight. PO30 1QF 01983 528798
heatheriwalc@gmail.com
www.iwalc.org
www.facebook.com/iwalcnews
Twitter:@iwalcnews

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Minutes of the meeting held in the Little London Room, The Riverside Centre, Newport on Thursday 28th July 2022 at 7pm

Present:

Officers: Cllrs Diana Conyers Chair (Fishbourne PC), Mick Lyons, Vice Chair (Havenstreet & Ashey PC), and Heather Rowell (County Officer)

Members:

Cllrs Heather Calloway (Arreton PC), Liz White (Bembridge PC), John Graney (Brading TC), Richard Hudspith (Brading TC), Nick Stuart (Brighstone PC), Peter Whiteman (Chillerton & Gatcombe PC), John Hobart (Chillerton & Gatcombe PC), Michael Paler (Cowes TC), Cameron Palin (East Cowes TC), Ed Hopper (Fishbourne PC), Anne Bamford (Freshwater PC), Emma Cox (Freshwater PC), Alison Child (Godshill PC), Paul Fuller (Gurnard PC), Sue Lyons (Havenstreet & Ashey PC), Adrian Whittaker (Lake PC), Bob Blezzard (Newchurch PC), Rosey Messing (Newchurch PC), Shirley Smart (Newport & Carisbrooke Community Council), Michael Smith (Newport & Carisbrooke Community Council), Patricia Redpath (Nettlestone & Seaview PC), David Adams (Nettlestone & Seaview PC), Sherlie Burridge (Niton & Whitwell PC), Claire Critchison (Niton & Whitwell PC), Ian Rigaud Barrett (Rookley PC), Simon Cooke (Ryde TC), Jonathan Bacon (St Helens PC), Emily Brothers (Sandown TC), Helena Hewston (Shalfleet PC), Shirley Stables (Shalfleet PC), Giles Aldred (Shorwell PC), Steve Cooper (Ventnor TC), Julie Hutchison (Ventnor TC) and Josie Kettley (Wroxall PC),

1. Welcome

The Chair welcomed members to the IWALC AGM.

2. Apologies

Apologies were received from Cllrs John Cirone (Brighstone PC), Nigel Philips (Chillerton & Gatcombe PC), Penny Acton (Gurnard PC), Sue Hardy, Treasurer (Lake PC), June Davison (Newchurch PC), Christopher Corey (Wootton Bridge PC), and Jill Webster (Communications Officer).

3. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

4. To approve the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Thursday 29th July 2021

The Minutes of the AGM held on 29th July 2021 were approved (with one amendment – 12 h to remove Cllr John Graney as representative to LAF) as a true and accurate record of the meeting. (SS/BB)

5. Elections

a) Chair Cllr Diana Conyers handed the meeting to Vice Chair Cllr Mick Lyons for this item. No prior nominations had been received. Cllr Mick Lyons proposed Cllr Diana Conyers, the proposal was seconded by Cllr Bob Blezzard and voted on. Diana Conyers (Fishbourne PC) was thus appointed as Chair for the coming year. Cllr Conyers then took over as Chair of the meeting and thanked members for their support.

Vice Chair – Two prior nominations had been received for Vice Chair, Cllr Mick Lyons (Havenstreet and Ashey PC) and Cllr Anne Bamford (Freshwater PC). Both nominees left the room while council members voted as follows: 16 member councils voted for Cllr Anne Bamford and 9 member councils voted for Cllr Mick Lyons. Cllr Anne Bamford was duly elected as Vice Chair, and Cllr Mick Lyons wished her good luck for the role. The Chair thanked Cllr Mick Lyons for his work and support as Vice-Chair.

6. Treasurer: To Appoint Treasurer for 2022/23

No prior nomination had been received. Cllr Bob Blezzard nominated Cllr Hardy, and this was seconded by Cllr Paul Fuller, and it was agreed that Cllr Hardy should continue in the role. She was thanked by the Chair for all her hard work.

- **7. Accounts: To receive the Association's accounts.** The accounts were unanimously approved (BB/PF), and thanks given to Cllr Hardy.
- 8. Chair's Annual Report: To receive the Chair's Annual Report. This was unanimously accepted.
- 9. Constitution: To approve the revised Constitution approved by the Executive at its meeting on 28th January 2022 (two-thirds majority vote required). The Constitution was adopted with a two-thirds majority. One council abstained.

10. Training:

- a. To appoint members of the County Training Group The following members were appointed: Councillors Peter Whiteman, Patricia Redpath, Shirley Smart, June Davison and Josey Kettley. The Chair and Vice Chair are automatically members.
- b. **To update members on the current training programme –** Following discussions with the local branch of the Society of Local Council Clerks (SLCC), IWALC has asked Maxine Warr (previous IWALC County Officer) to run an online course for new Clerks.

11. Communications:

- a. **To appoint members of the Communications Group –** The following members were appointed: Councillors John Graney, Simon Cooke, Helena Hewston and Mick Lyons. The Chair and Vice-Chair are automatically members.
- b. To update members on communication issues Cllr Simon Cooke has taken on the responsibility of managing the website and getting it ready for the County Officer and Communications Officer to be able to upload information. The Chair thanked Cllrs John Graney, and Simon Cooke and ex Cllr Dave Hardy for their work on the website.

12. Representatives to outside bodies: To appoint representatives to the following:

a. National Association of Local Councils (NALC) - Cllr Bob Blezzard, Deputy Cllr John Graney.

- b. Southeast Regional County Association Forum (SERCAF) Cllr Bob Blezzard, Deputy Cllr John Graney.
- c. Hampshire and Isle of Wight Local Government Association Cllr Bob Blezzard, Deputy Cllr Steve Cooper
- d. Isle of Wight Council Corporate Scrutiny Committee Cllr Cameron Palin, Deputy Cllr Ed Hopper
- e. Isle of Wight Council Planning Committee Cllr Giles Aldred, Deputy Cllr Ed Hopper
- f. Isle of Wight Council Health and Wellbeing Board Cllr Shirley Smart, Deputy Cllr Emily Brothers.
- g. Isle of Wight Council Appeals Committee Cllr Mick Lyons, Deputy Patricia Redpath
- h. Local Access Forum (LAF) Cllr John Hobart, Deputy Cllr Mick Lyons
- i. Voluntary Sector Forum Cllr Diana Conyers, Deputy Cllr Julie Hutchison
- Isle of Wight Bus and Rail Users Group Cllr Emily Brothers, Deputy Cllr Diana Conyers.
- k. Campaign to Protect Rural England (CPRE) Cllr Nick Stuart, Deputy Cllr Steve Cooper.
- I. AONB Cllr Nick Stuart, Deputy Cllr Shirley Stables
- m. Community Led Housing Board Cllr Helena Hewston, Deputy Cllr Peter Whiteman.
- n. Prevent Board- Cllr John Graney
- o. Age Friendly Island Cllr Anne Bamford, Deputy Cllr Alison Child
- **13. Meeting Dates: To approve dates of meetings for 2022/23 –** It was agreed to hold the Open Day on Saturday 24th September 2022. The meeting dates for the forthcoming year were approved.
- 14. Date of Next Meeting: Executive Meeting Thursday 29th September 2022 at 7pm.